Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Vote for ex-Latics' players

28 October 2012

Three in line for awards

Kieran Lee has been shortlisted for npower League One player of the year while Chris Taylor (pictured) and Jason Lowe are in line for the rising star award.

Latics' fans have less than 24 hours to cast votes for three of their former players who have been nominated for honours in the Northwest Football Awards.

The closing date for fans’ votes is 5pm on Monday, October 29th.


Players from the Premier League to Blue Square Conference will be recognised for their performances throughout the 2011/12 campaign, with supporters’ votes deciding who will receive the various accolades. The current Premier League players nominated are Manchester City captain Vincent Kompany, Manchester United winger Antonio Valencia, international defenders; John Heitinga of Everton and Martin Skrtel of Liverpool and Wigan Athletic skipper Gary Caldwell. 


Other nominees from the other divisions include Bolton Wanderers goalkeeper Adam Bogdan, Blackpool defender Alex Baptise and former Crewe Alexandra and current Manchester United midfielder Nick Powell.


Supporters can also vote to back their heroes of the future and decide which player received the 2012 Rising Star Award. Standout nominees for this award include Liverpool and England right-back Martin Kelly, Everton’s Greece Under-21 striker Apostolos Vellios, Manchester United’s Norwegian midfielder Mats Møller Daehli, Blackpool’s goalscoring winger Tom Ince and Manchester United midfielder Nick Powell, who is recognised for his displays for Crewe Alexandra last season.


Fans can vote online by visiting through the Northwest Football Awards Facebook account at can also be cast


Those submitting their vote also have the opportunity to enter a competition for the chance to win a pair of tickets to the Northwest Football Awards.


Consisting of professionals across all aspects of the game, including PFA Chairman Gordon Taylor OBE and former FA Chief Executive Mark Palios, the panel have announced the various finalists for the awards ceremony, which takes place on Monday 12 November at Lancashire County Cricket Club’s ‘The Point’ and will be presented by BBC Sport’s Dan Walker. Special award categories on the night will also recognise the Northwest Football Journalist of the Year, Manager of the Year and Goal of the Year, as well as a Lifetime Contribution to Northwest Football and an Unsung Hero Award.


Tickets and tables for his year’s Northwest Football Awards are still available, for more information


The full shortlists for the divisional Player of the Year awards are as follows:


Barclays Premier League Player of the Year

Yakubu Aiyegbeni – Blackburn Rovers (now at Guangzhou R&F FC)

Adam Bogdan – Bolton Wanderers

John Heitinga – Everton

Martin Skrtel – Liverpool

Vincent Kompany – Manchester City

Antonio Valencia – Manchester United

Gary Caldwell – Wigan Athletic


npower Championship Player of the Year

Alex Baptise – Blackpool

Jay Rodriguez – Burnley (now at Southampton)


npower League One Player of the Year

David Worrall - Bury

Lee Miller – Carlisle United

Kieran Lee – Oldham Athletic (now at Sheffield Wednesday)

Thorsten Stuckmann – Preston North End

Jason Kennedy – Rochdale

David Buchanan – Tranmere Rovers (now at Preston North End)


npower League Two Player of the Year

Padraig Amond – Accrington Stanley

Nick Powell – Crewe Alexandra (now Manchester United)

Jose Veiga – Macclesfield Town (now with Harrogate Town)

Chris McCready – Morecambe


Blue Square Conference Player of the Year

Damian Reeves - Altrincham

Joe Connor – Stockport County

Tom Hannigan – Vauxhall Motors FC

Rising Star Award

Sam Grimshaw - Altrincham 

Jason Lowe - Blackburn Rovers

Tom Ince - Blackpool

Andy Kellett - Bolton Wanderers       

Alex Coleman - Burnley        

Andrai Jones - Bury   

Josh Todd - Carlisle United   

Nick Powell - Crewe Alexandra (now with Manchester United)       

Apostolos Vellios - Everton    

Martin Kelly - Liverpool

James Bolton - Macclesfield Town   

Denis Suarez - Manchester City         

Mats Møller Daehli - Manchester United       

Joe McGee - Morecambe     

Chris Taylor - Oldham Athletic (now with Millwall)    

Danny Mayor - Preston North End (now with Sheffield Wednesday)          

Sam Minihan – Rochdale      

Ian Ormson - Stockport County        

Danny Holmes - Tranmere Rovers   

Tim Chow - Wigan Athletic    


For more information on the Northwest Football Awards, please visit their


Advertisement block