Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Baxter nominated for award

22 August 2013

Will Jose become North West's top player

What do Michael Carrick, Leighton Baines, Jose Baxter (pictured) and George Horan have in common?

The quartet from Manchester United, Everton, Oldham and Chester City are literally leagues apart, but all four have won nominations for the 2013 Northwest Football Awards which take place on Monday, November 4th.

Now it's the public's chance to choose players they want to see pick up silverware at the annual and prestigious awards at Lancashire Cricket Club's,The Point.

Voting has opened to decide who will become player of the year from across the leagues from Premiership to Conference and Rising Star for 2012/2013.

Liverpool's Martin Skrtel scooped the accolade for the Premier League at last year's awards while divisional winners included Alex Baptiste (Championship) and Nick Powell (League Two).

So will the Anfield star be succeeded by Carrick who has been so instrumental in Manchester United's 20th top flight title winning campaign?


Or perhaps it will be Baines, a reported target for the champions who enjoyed an outstanding season?. His highlights included a first senior international goal for England, voted into the PFA team of the year and winning Everton fans' player of the season and players' player of the season awards.


City and Liverpool fans would surely prefer to see wins for Pablo Zabaleta or Kop legend, Jamie Carragher?

But the awards celebrate all levels of North West football and organisers are looking to exceed the tens of thousands of votes cast across a wide range of categories in 2012.

A distinguished judging panel includes: Gordon Taylor, chairman of the Professional Footballers' Association, former chief executive of the Football Association, Mark Palios, and Paul Thorogood, chief executive of the Football Foundation.

To vote and also see the full list of Player and Rising Star nominations


Stockport County (Jordan Fagbola), Tranmere Rovers (Zoumana Bakayogo), Vauxhall Motors (Tom Hannigan) and Wigan Athletic (Shaun Maloney).The following have been nominated for player of the season: Accrington Stanley (Lee Molyneux), Altrincham (Duncan Watmore), Barrow (Danny Hurst), Blackburn Rovers (Jordan Rhodes), Blackpool (Alex Baptiste), Bolton Wanderers (Jay Spearing), Burnley (Charlie Austin), Bury (David Worrall), Carlisle United (Matthew Robson), Chester City (George Horan), Crewe Alexandra (Luke Murphy), Droylsden (Rob Sissons), Everton (Leighton Baines), Fleetwood Town (Scott Davies), Hyde United (Luke Ashworth), Liverpool (Jamie Carragher), Macclesfield Town (Peter Winn), Manchester City (Pablo Zabaleta), Manchester United (Michael Carrick), Morecambe (Jack Redshaw), Oldham Athletic (Jose Baxter), Preston North End (John Welsh), Rochdale (Jason Kennedy), Southport (Shaun Whalley), Stalybridge (Alex Cairns),

The top three most voted for player from each category will be shortlisted and the winner chosen by the judging panel. Voting closes on Friday, October 4th, 2013.


Advertisement block