Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Founder clubs honoured

5 August 2013

Blue plaques to be presented

The Football League has presented specially commissioned blue plaques to its 12 founder member clubs, in recognition of the special role they played in the formation of the world’s original league football competition.

The first season of The Football League kicked off on 8th September 1888 and featured Accrington, Aston Villa, Blackburn Rovers, Bolton Wanderers, Burnley, Derby County, Everton, Notts County, Preston North End, Stoke, West Bromwich Albion and Wolverhampton Wanderers.

Football League Chairman, Greg Clarke and Chief Operating Officer, Andy Williamson, who has worked for the organisation for the last 42 years, were on hand at the weekend to make presentations to Blackburn, Bolton, Burnley, Derby, Notts County, Preston and Wolves ahead of kick-off in their respective Anniversary Fixtures.

Clarke said: "The supporters of The Football League's founder members should take great pride from the contribution their clubs have made to the game of football.

Accrington Stanley were presented with a plaque - on behalf of their predecessor club Accrington FC - along with Everton ahead of their recent friendly that re-created the Everton v Accrington match from the opening day of the 1888/89 season.

Celebrations of The Football League's 125th Anniversary will continue into the new season with the opening of a special exhibition at the National Football Museum in September. To find out more visit

Advertisement block