Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Vote for Matt Smith

25 February 2013

Striker nominated for FA Cup award

Latics' Matt Smith is one of five players nominated for the Budweiser player-of-the-round award following their performance in the fifth round of the FA Cup.

A panel of judges nominate their candidates after each round (from the First Round Proper up to and including the Semi-Final) and you can vote for your favourite right here.

The panel comprises The Sun journalists Justin Allen and Jim Munro, commentator Mark Pougatch, FA Historian David Barber, who has attended over 420 FA Cup ties, and Southampton fan Aidan Mills. Aidan secured his place on the panel after entering an online competition in conjunction with Budweiser.

The selections for the Fifth Round Proper are as follows:

Chris Dagnall, Barnsley (Aidan Mills)

Chris Dagnall helped fire his side into the Sixth Round with a double against MK Dons on Saturday.

Jake Kean, Blackburn Rovers (David Barber)

The Blackburn goalkeeper kept Arsenal at bay with a string of fine saves at the Emirates, allowing Rovers to pull off the shock of the round.

Arouna Kone, Wigan Athletic (Justin Allen)

The Ivorian striker proved a handful for Huddersfield's defence and capped a fine display with Wigan's final goal in a 3-1 win.

Callum McManaman, Wigan Athletic (Mark Pougatch)

Wigan's star man against the Terriers, Callum McManaman scored his side's first goal and set up the second.

Matt Smith, Oldham Athletic (Jim Munro)

Nominated for the second round in succession, Matt Smith's added time header secured Oldham a fifth-round replay against Everton at Goodison Park.

You have until midday on Monday 4 March to vote for your favourite.

The person who tops the poll will receive a commemorative Budweiser player-of-the-round trophy and he will also be invited to The FA Cup Final at Wembley in May as a guest of The FA and Budweiser.

To vote, click here

Advertisement block