Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Vote for Smith

29 January 2013

Matt shortlisted for FA Cup award

Matt Smith, the two-goal hero of Latics' FA Cup win against Liverpool, is one of five players to be nominated for the Budweiser player-of-the-round award.

A panel of judges nominate their candidates after each round (from the First Round Proper up to and including the Semi-Final) and you can vote for your favourite.

The Third Round panel comprises The Sun journalists Justin Allen and Jim Munro, commentator Mark Pougatch, FA Historian David Barber, who has attended over 420 FA Cup ties, and Southampton fan Aidan Mills. Aidan secured his place on the panel after entering an online competition in conjunction with Budweiser.

The selections for the Fourth Round Proper are as follows:

Sam Byram, Leeds United (Justin Allen)
Leeds produced a famous win to knock Tottenham out of The FA Cup and Sam Byram was one of their many star performers at Elland Road.

John Marquis, Millwall (Jim Munro)
Millwall’s John Marquis was full of desire in the final couple of minutes to follow up his own header that had rebounded off the bar to sink Aston Villa at The Den.

Ross McCormack, Leeds United (Aidan Mills)
Ross McCormack’s fine second-half finish capped an all-round solid performance from the Scot as Leeds booked a Fifth Round tie against Manchester City.

Scott Rendell, Luton Town (David Barber)
Non-League Luton pulled off the biggest shock of the Fourth Round by eliminating Norwich at Carrow Road and Scott Rendell’s late winner has ensured him a place in Hatters folklore.

Matt Smith, Oldham Athletic (Mark Pougatch)
Two-goal Matt Smith scored two first-half goals to help guide League One Oldham to a 3-2 victory over seven-time Cup winners Liverpool.

You have until midday on Friday, February 8th to vote for your favourite.

The person who tops the poll will receive a commemorative Budweiser player of the round trophy and he will also be invited to The FA Cup Final at Wembley next May as a guest of The FA and Budweiser.

Vote for Matt Smith by clicking on to the following link to the Football Association's website

Advertisement block