Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Football League Awards

21 March 2013

Player-of-the-year shortlists


The Football League has announced the final shortlists ahead of Sunday’s Football League Awards 2013, the annual awards ceremony that celebrates on and off pitch excellence across the 72 clubs.


The final shortlists cover the npower player of the year for each division, as well as the Johnstone’s Paint Young Player of the Year across the whole of The Football League and the Mitre Goal of the Year.


These are just some of the 17 awards that will be handed out this year, with the winners being announced at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday, March 24th.


The shortlists for the npower Players of the Year were drawn up based on votes from the managers in the respective divisions. A list of the top 10 players in each division based on the managers’ votes will be released after The Football League awards night.  The full shortlists, including that for the Johnstone’s Paint Young Player of the Year are:


Johnstone’s Paint Young Player of the Year

Thomas Ince – Blackpool

Matěj Vydra – Watford

Wilfried Zaha     Crystal Palace


npower League 2 Player of the Year

(voted for by Football League club managers)

Jamie Cureton – Exeter City               

Gary Jones – Bradford City   

Tom Pope – Port Vale


npower League 1 Player of the Year

(voted for by Football League club managers)

Leon Clarke – Coventry City

Alan Judge – Notts County

Matt Ritchie – AFC Bournemouth


npower Championship Player of the Year

(voted for by Football League club managers)

Thomas Ince – Blackpool

Glenn Murray – Crystal Palace

Matěj Vydra – Watford


Richard Heaselgrave, Chief Commercial Officer at The Football League, said: "The Football League Awards are a great way to celebrate the work that goes on behind the scenes at each club, as well as the action that has taken place on the pitch each week.


"To make these shortlists is a real achievement.  I would like to wish all those nominated the best of luck and we look forward to announcing the winners on the evening.”


Clubs also have an opportunity to taste success on the evening with a number of other awards on the night including; npower Fan of the Year, Mitre Goal of the Year, Football Manager Outstanding Managerial Achievement, Capital One ‘Credit to the Game’ Award, PFA Player in the Community, LFE Apprentice of the Year Family Club of the Year, Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year, Perform Best Use of Digital and the Tokio Marine Unsung Hero Award.


To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit




The Football League Young Player of the Year

2012 – Wilfried Zaha (Crystal Palace)

2011 – Connor Wickham (Ipswich Town)

2010 – Nathaniel Clyne (Crystal Palace)

2009 – Fabian Delph (Leeds United)

2008 – Michael Kightly (Wolverhampton Wanderers)

2007 – Gareth Bale (Southampton)

2006 – David Nugent (Preston North End)


League 2 Player of the Year:

2012 – Matt Ritchie (Swindon Town)

2011 – Ryan Lowe (Bury)

2010 – Craig Dawson (Rochdale)

2009 – Grant Holt (Shrewsbury Town)

2008 – Keith Andrews (Milton Keynes Dons)

2007 – Izale McLeod (Milton Keynes Dons)

2006 – Karl Hawley (Carlisle United)


League 1 Player of the Year:

2012 – Jordan Rhodes (Huddersfield Town)

2011 – Craig Mackail-Smith (Peterborough United)

2010 – Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United)

2009 – Matt Fryatt (Leicester City)

2008 – Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United)

2007 – Billy Sharp (Scunthorpe United)

2006 – Lee Trundle (Swansea City)

Championship Player of the Year:

2012 – Rickie Lambert (Southampton)

2011 – Adel Taarabt (Queens Park Rangers)

2010 – Kevin Nolan (Newcastle United)

2009 – Sylvan Ebanks-Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers)

2008 – Kevin Phillips (West Bromwich Albion)

2007 – Jason Koumas (West Bromwich Albion)

2006 – Phil Jagielka (Sheffield United)

Advertisement block