Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Goal of the Year for 2013

21 January 2014

A reminder to Latics fans that tomorrow is your last chance to vote for your 'Goal of the Year'.

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2013 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2013 calendar year, to include goals scored in the Sky Bet Football League, the Capital One Cup and the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy. Goals scored in FA Cup with Budweiser competitions will not be included.

We want fans to help us decide our club nomination by voting from a shortlist of three:

  1. James Dayton v Port Vale. SkyBet League 1.
  2. James Wesolowski v Preston. Johnstones Paint Trophy. 
  3. Carl Winchester Oldham v Swindon: Skybet League 1. 

How to vote:

Short clips of each of the 3 goals will be added to the club’s official Instagram account.

1)      Like the clip on Instagram

2)      Like/Share the link on Facebook

3)      Favourite/Re-tweet the link on Twitter

Closing date 9am Wednesday 22 January. 

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2014.  A judging panel will then review the goals with the top 10 being shown on Sky Sports’ Soccer AM on 9th February.  Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 16th March 2014.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit


Advertisement block