Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Kinder + Sport Football League Girls And Kids Cup

26 November 2014

Oldham Athletic Community Trust held their Kinder + Sport Football League Girls Cup competition last week as six secondary schools competed to progress to the next round of a national competition.

The competition was held at Oasis Academy with Blue Coat, Royton & Crompton, Hathershaw College, Failsworth, Waterhead Academy and Oasis Academy taking part. In total across the night over 20 goals were scored with some high quality individual and team performances on show.

The competition was split into two groups which saw two group winners, Blue Coat and Oasis Academy, progress to a final which was played on the same night. Blue Coat were the eventual overall winners beating Oasis Academy in a close final meaning that it will be Blue Coat who progress to the area final. The next stage of the competition will be held in Leeds during early January where the girls from Blue Coat will represent their school and Oldham Athletic against schools from around the north of England.

The Kinder + Sport Football League Kids Cup is well underway with 32 local primary schools having already took part in the competition. Last night saw 12 schools compete in the third and final qualifying round for a chance to take part in the finals evening. St Johns, Mills Hill and Greenhill progressed from the three groups and will join St Pauls, Thorp, Hodgeclough, South Failsworth and Rushcroft in the finals evening which will take place in January.

The schools that competed this year were: St Edwards, Thorp, St Pauls, Medlock Valley, Hey With Zion, Friezland, Christ Church Denshaw, Rushcroft, St Lukes, East Crompton St James, South Failsworth, Richmond, Corpus Christi, St Josephs, Thornham, Stoneleigh, St Annes Royton, Hodgeclough, Mills Hill, OASIS, Yew Tree, Clarksfield, Greenhill, Whitegate End, Hulme Grammar, Mayfield, St Margarets, St Johns, Holy Rosary and Christ Church. 

The OACT team would like to thank all the schools for taking part in this year’s competition.

Advertisement block