Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

J D Williams Team Of The Week

15 August 2015

The J D Williams Team Of The Week is back this afternoon and Oldham Athletic Community Trust would today like to welcome to Park Royton Town Tigers U8s.

Here is a little more information about the team:

Royton Town Tigers U8s

Royton Town Tigers are part of Royton Town FC open age team. Phil Haigh, manager of Royton Town Tigers U8s, is both secretary of the junior section and vice chairman of the open age team. Phil has been involved with Royton Town for 20 years playing as a striker and then goalkeeper for the first team before managing them for eight seasons. 

During this period it was always an ambition for the club to have a junior section with nothing materialising until Phil and former first team captain Chris Mason sat down and established the club. It was a tough start at the beginning with only a handful of players attending however now 15 months on there are approximately 40 players including both girls and boys. 

Currently there are one under 8s team, two under 7s teams and two under 6s teams. 

The club also take players from the age of four. All coaches either play or have played for Royton Town FC so it's in their blood they are Jamie Peer, Ian Hulme, Gareth Thompson and John McCall. 

The progress the players have made in this time is a joy to watch with four player going on to train with Manchester City, Manchester United and Everton. New friendships have developed and the atmosphere in the club is great with parents who continue to support us in our ambition.

We are currently in the East Manchester Summer League but will be joining the Heywood League in September playing Sunday mornings, we are always looking for new players and you can find us on Facebook.

In addition we would like to say a massive thank you to our sponsor Christopher Farrand and G & J Powder Coatings 

We look forward to our special day and thanks to all of Oldham Athletic for support.

The Royton Town Tigers squad is: 

- Jackson Morris      
- Jude Bailey 
- Daniel Fletcher       
- Tyler Wood
- Jack Miller             
- Brooklyn Carrigan
- Tyler Forsyth            
- Harry Carver 
- Alex Wild               
- Liam Farrand
- Billy Gooding          
- Seb Berry
- Adam Royales         
- Sammy Middleton
- Zak Searles

Advertisement block