Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Winners Announced For The Football League Awards

18 April 2016

The Football League has announced the winners at the Football League Awards 2016, the 11th annual awards ceremony that celebrates on and off pitch excellence across the League’s 72 clubs.

A global audience tuned in to watch Burnley’s Andre Gray win the Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year Award. The Sky Bet League 1 award was presented to Gillingham’s Bradley Dack while Oxford United’s Kemare Roofe received the Sky Bet League 2 accolade.  All three of the divisional Player of the Year winners were decided by a vote among club managers from their division.
Leeds United midfielder Lewis Cook was named The Football League’s Young Player of the Year, an accolade that has seen previous winners including Dele Alli and Gareth Bale go on to achieve international acclaim.
The prestigious Contribution to League Football Award was presented to Andy Williamson, who was rewarded for 45 years of unbroken service to The Football League and its clubs. During his time with the organisation, Andy has been at the heart of many of the League’s defining moments including the introduction of three points for a win in 1981 and the creation of the Play-Offs in 1986.
Former Bolton Wanderers, Preston North End and England forward Kevin Davies picked up the Sir Tom Finney Award, presented to a recently retired player that has had an outstanding career in the Football League.
The Football League also announced its Football Manager Team of the Season, revealing an all-star line-up that recognises the 11 outstanding players and one manager from across all three divisions of the Sky Bet Football League this season. The team included Joey Barton, Alan Judge, George Friend and Nicky Ajose, while Northampton Town manager Chris Wilder was selected as manager.

Advertisement block