Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Welcome to the EFL

10 June 2016

As of today the three tiers of English Football will be known as the EFL.

The rebranding means that Latics will next season take part in the following competitions:

- Sky Bet League One

- EFL Cup (formerly the Capital One Cup/League Cup)

- EFL Trophy (Johnstone's Paint Trophy/League trophy)

- All of which will take place within the Sky Bet EFL

The rebranding, just the fourth in the competition's history, also sees a whole new line of sleeve patches, names and numbers (as seen below) to appear on all kits next season.

The EFL's chief executive Shaun Harvey said this about it all: "The new EFL name rightly emphasises the central role our clubs play at the heart of English professional football. 

"We believe the EFL name and brand will give our competitions an identity that is new and distinct, while at the same time retaining our unique heritage. As such, it will be something that all fans can identify with - whether they be young or old, at home or abroad." 

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account