Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Fixture News

Academy Fixtures

19 July 2021

Ahead of the new EFL Youth Alliance campaign, the U18s have the following friendly fixtures confirmed ahead of the new campaign.

The Youth Team will take on elite academy sides and non-league teams, all away from home, which includes a friendly against club partners Avro who are hosting the new football education programme. 

Date Team KO Venue
Tuesday 20 July Winsford United 7:45pm Barton Stadium (CW7 3AE)
Saturday 24 July Avro 3pm Vestacare Stadium
Wednesday 28 July UFCA 10:30am Vestacare Stadium
Saturday 31 July Sunderland 1pm Academy of Light
Tuesday 3 August Halifax Town 11am TBC

The first two friendlies against non-league opposition have admission prices which are as follows and is pay-on-the-gate:

  • Winsford: £5 Adults & £1 U16s (No Concession price)
  • Avro: £4 Adults, £3 Concessions & 50p Juniors (U16s)

It is expected ‘Select XI’s’ will play in both of these games, with the scholars forming the majority of the line-up alongside first-year professionals and may also feature first team players not part of the squad that faces Burnley at the weekend.

The Huddersfield Town friendly against their youth side that was organised for last weekend was subsequently cancelled. 

It then begins properly on Saturday 7 August when the 2021/22 EFL Youth Alliance (North West) season gets underway with a fixture away at Salford. The full fixture list is available below with the FA Youth Cup first round opponents still to be confirmed for October/November.

Saturday 7 August

Salford City

A

 

Saturday 14 August

Morecambe 

H

 

Saturday 21 August

Mansfield Town

H

Cup G1

Saturday 28 August 

Fleetwood Town

A

 

Saturday 4 September

Tranmere Rovers

H

 

Saturday 11 September 

Rochdale

A

 

Saturday 18 September

Carlisle United

H

 

Saturday 25 September

Bolton Wanderers

A

Cup G2

Saturday 2 October

Walsall

A

 

Saturday 9 October

Doncaster Rovers

A

Cup G3

Saturday 23 October

Port Vale

H

 

Saturday 30 October

Shrewsbury Town

A

 

Saturday 13 November

Accrington Stanley

H

 

Saturday 20 November

Blackpool

A

 

Saturday 27 November

Bolton Wanderers

H

 

Saturday 4 December 

Preston North End

A

 

Saturday 18 December

Salford City

H

 

Saturday 8 January

Morecambe

A

 

Saturday 15 January

Rochdale

H

 

Saturday 22 January 

Accrington Stanley

A

 

Saturday 29 January 

   

Cup AQF

Saturday 12 February

Walsall

H

 

Saturday 19 February 

Bolton Wanderers

A

 

Saturday 26 February

   

Cup ASF

Saturday 12 March

Fleetwood Town

H

 

Saturday 19 March 

   

YA Cup National SF

Saturday 26 March

Tranmere Rovers

A

 

Saturday 2 April

Preston North End

H

 

Saturday 9 April

Port Vale

A

 

Saturday 23 April

Blackpool

H

 

Saturday 30 April

Carlisle United

A

 

Wednesday 4 May

   

YA Cup National Final

Saturday 7 May

Shrewsbury Town

H

 

It looks like home league games will now be played at the Chapel Road training ground, with any venue change communicated in advance.


Advertisement block