Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Lee makes final

1 November 2012

Kieran in line for top-player honour

Former Oldham Athletic midfielder Kieran Lee has been named as a finalist for the League One player of the year in the Northwest Football Awards.


Lee (pictured), who moved to Sheffield Wednesday in the summer, is up against former Tranmere Rovers midfielder David Buchanan and Lee Miller, of Carlisle United, for this year’s honour.


Voted for by supporters, fans of all North West clubs have responded by voting in their thousands for their chosen Footballer of the Year and Rising Star, with shortlists whittled down to three finalists and the winner of each award announced at the awards ceremony itself.


And as a big thank you to fans….


The Northwest Football Awards Gala Dinner is almost here and they have been inundated with requests from regular fans wanting to attend the event. Some of the clubs have asked if there's anything they can do to make the tickets cheaper for regular fans.


To reward the fans for their support and votes, they are offering them the chance to attend and mingle with the stars on the evening by introducing a discounted fan rate.


.0161 831 0260There are only a certain amount of tickets available, so to secure your place and rub shoulders with your heroes, call


The 2012 Northwest Football Awards, which will be hosted by BBC sports reporter Dan Walker, are taking place at The Point, Lancashire County Cricket Club on Monday, November 12th, with awards for each division’s top manager and player being voted for by the public and the corporate awards being judged by a panel of experts.


Special categories on the night will honour the Northwest Football Journalist of the Year, Manager of the Year, Goal of the Year, as well as a Lifetime Contribution to Northwest Football and an Unsung Hero Award.


is on sustained quality, best use of resources and of people with knowledge, expertise and experience.Community Initiative of the Year and Best Youth Development Programme,The focus of each of the other club awards, which include


Professional clubs based in the Blue Square Premier League and above can nominate themselves for certain awards whilst nominations of organisations or people can extend beyond clubs to sponsors and partners.


For more information on the Northwest Football Awards, or to book tickets, please


Premier League Player of the Year Finalists:

Vincent Kompany – Manchester City

Antonio Valencia – Manchester United

Martin Skrtel – Liverpool


Championship Player of the Year Finalists:

Alex Baptiste – Blackpool

Jay Rodriguez – Burnley (now at Southampton)


League One Player of the Year Finalists:

Kieran Lee – Oldham Athletic (now at Sheffield Wednesday)

David Buchanan – Tranmere Rovers (now at Preston North End)

Lee Miller – Carlisle United


League Two Player of the Year Finalists

Nick Powell – Crewe Alexandra (now at Manchester United)

Chris McCready – Morecambe

AccringtonStanley – Padraig Amond


Conference Player of the Year Finalists

Damian Reeves – Altrincham

Joe Connor – Stockport County

Tom Hannigan – Vauxhall Motors


Rising Star Award Finalists

Martin Kelly – Liverpool

Mats Møller Dæhli – Manchester United

Apostolos Vellios – Everton

Thomas Ince – Blackpool

Denis Suarez – Manchester City

Nick Powell – Crewe Alexandra (now at Manchester United)


Manager of the Year Finalists (shortlisted by expert panel)

Roberto Mancini – Manchester City

Roberto Martinez – Wigan Athletic

Steve Davis – Crewe Alexandra

David Moyes – Everton

Greg Abbott – Carlisle United


Category list (awarded by expert panel):

Community Initiative of the Year

Community Club of the Year

CSR Campaign of the Year

Best Club Marketing Campaign

Best use of Social Media

Best Club Sponsorship Engagement/Partnership

Northwest Professional Services to Football

Northwest Business Services to Football

Medical & Sports Science Professional

Unsung Hero

Best Youth Development Programme


The following special awards will be decided by a separate panel of experts and winners will be announced on the night:

  • Northwest Football Journalist of the Year
  • Manager of the Year
  • Goal of the Year
  • Lifetime Contribution to Northwest Football


For more information on the Northwest Football Awards, please visit their



Advertisement block